My Inevitable Plug for Neil Gaiman!

Neil Gaiman is my all-time favorite author, so when I saw on Newsarama.com that he’s been nominated for two World Fantasy Awards, it instantly made my day. Gaiman’s nominations are best novel for The Graveyard Book, and best novella for Odd and the Frost Giants.

Even though The Graveyard Book is technically in the children’s section, you should definitely give it a read. It’s a coming-of-age story with a twist: orphan Nobody “Bod” Owens has been adopted by his friendly neighborhood graveyard. Bod grows up in a kind of limbo, exploring his ghost community and the living world; but his skills and bravery will be tested when he meets Jack, the man who murdered his family – and is still on the hunt for Bod. If you liked Gaiman’s previous children’s book Coraline (which Henry Selick adapted for his stop-motion film), you will love The Graveyard Book.

You should also check out Gaiman’s ingenious comic series The Sandman, a mythical and fantastical journey concerning Morpheus, the lord over and personification of dream itself.

One thought on “My Inevitable Plug for Neil Gaiman!

  1. I’m definitely looking forward to The Graveyard Book. I have to say, though I have since past the days of reading “children’s books”, I never leave a Neil Gaimain book behind. Although Coraline was targeted at pre-teens, I still found it fantastic. Neil Gaiman has a way of putting a little bit of everything into his alternate realities, ensuring that his stories appeal to everyone!

Leave a Reply

