Favorite April Comics

Okay, so let’s set the record straight here. I rarely, if ever, buy comics. I’m a poor college student. But for some reason, this month I actually bought some, and here are my favorites, in no particular order. And thanks to Bruce for any and all inspiration from his posts and reviews :) .

The Flash #1

Barry Allen returns in this first installment of The Flash, banking on the Brightest Day hoopla. Like some fans, I’m not keeping track of the overarching storyline, but I’m enjoying seeing all the heroes coming back, especially Flash. Barry Allen is a forensic scientist with the Central City Police Department, but soon faces trouble with his greatest villains…from the 25th century. The art is positively stunning; it’s rich with color and the sketchy design fits Allen’s speedster abilities perfectly. I’m looking forward to seeing how the next five issues play out.

The Spirit #1

Denny Colt (aka The Spirit) is back in his own series! This is part of the noir series First Wave, focusing on old-school heroes The Spirit, Doc Savage, and Bat-Man. The Spirit was first created by Will Eisner way back in the day, and Darwyn Cooke had a superb run with Spirit too; here, Shultz and Mortiat bring the Spirit back to life and definitely capture the essence of the character, but it’s more noir than Cooke and Eisner’s lighthearted mystery stories. This first issue is more of an introduction to the detective and his enemies, primarily the eight-family crime ring Octopus.  I also enjoyed Mortiat’s art, even though Colt sometimes looks eerily skeletal, and the cover has nothing to do with the issue.

Brave and the Bold #33

Zatanna, Wonder Woman and Batgirl plan a night on the town that none of them will forget. (And thanks to Bruce for letting me know it was coming out!) I’m a big Babs fan (duh) so I was really looking forward to this issue. Needless to say, I will always enjoy a Batgirl comic, the art was beautiful and moving, and I’m glad to see Zatanna before her own series debut. But I’m sick of Oracle foreshadowing every single time we see Babs pre-Killing Joke. Yes, Barbara Gordon will always be stuck in that wheelchair, and she will never be Batgirl again, making her the most tragic superhero ever–but how many times do you have to pound me over the head with it? It was nice to see the girls enjoying a night off, and I would have liked it to end there; let her be Batgirl instead of constantly overshadowing her with Oracle. So, while I enjoyed the first half of the comic immensely…that’s the only part of the comic I’ll read again.

Red Robin #11

Even though I’m showing #11 here, this really represents Red Robs’ series as a whole, of which I have taken a sporadic interest along with Morrison’s Batman and Robin line. Drake really comes into his own, in this series, standing apart from Batman and Robin, and remains steadfast in his belief that Bruce is still alive. Also, Ra’s al Ghul is in it. Woot. (The only thing I have to do is pretend that Stephanie doesn’t exist.) Why, then, is the interest sporadic? Because I know Morrison’s going to go out with a bang during Return of Bruce Wayne, and I’m pretty sure Dick is going to die. And as a Babs fan who wants to see those two tie the knot, that makes me unhappy. (I’ll admit, Kitty Pryde’s return put me on my guard.) Nevertheless, I’m really enjoying Red Robin, who isn’t as dark or intimidating as Batman, nor as annoying as Damien, and I hope his own series continues after Bruce comes back.

Next Up:

There are many exciting comics coming out in May, my checking account whimpers in fear. Sort of. At the moment, the comics I’m looking forward to most in May are: Red Robin 11, The Return of Bruce Wayne 1 and 2, The Flash 2, Birds of Prey 1 (Gail Simone and Ed Benes are back!), The Spirit 2, and Zatanna 1.

4 thoughts on “Favorite April Comics

  1. This post was heavily influenced by me, and yet I’m not mentioned at all.

    I’m going to sue you!

    And all of these are DC comics, which makes me a sad panda.

    Variety is the spice of life!

    • Hi Bruce, I had the idea to review these comics before I saw your post, and I checked my history and draft dates to make sure. But I admit that after I read your review of Brave and the Bold I was much less enchanted with it–is the edit ok? :)

      I agree, I succumbed to DC (though I have yet to read X-Men Forever) this month, and I do want to branch out to different comics. Any suggestions? Aside from the Vampire one, it looks kind of creepy.

  2. Yeah, but it was I who told you to read BATB in the first place, yet you see you were really looking forward to it, as if you’ve been obsessively counting down the days on your Babs calender.

    But, sure, the edit works fine, illustrating once again: the squeaky wheel gets the most grease.

    American Vampire is creepy? Well, it’s co-written by Stephen King. I think it’s supposed to be a bit creepy. What, just because the vamps are tough and non-sparkly you can’t deal with them? Hey, the main character is a tough female. You like that, right?

    Suggestions? Oh, jeez, those are endless, and I’m not sure what your budget is and what you’re looking for. So, let’s start simple.

    Astonishing X-Men: Xenogenesis #1: http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=preview&id=5124&disp=table

    It’s completely self-contained, written by the great Warren Ellis and drawn by the adorably artistic Kaare Andrews. The first issue comes out this Wednesday, and it’s a five issue miniseries.

    It has Emma Frost! :)

    But it also has Storm, Wolverine, Beast, Cyclops, and Hisako, who’s a cute little Asian hero. It’ll have witty dialogue and a plot involving mutant babies.

    That should be a good girly pick!

    • Yep, you’re totally right, I’m sorry.

      Oh, how to describe my feelings towards Twilight…Loathing? Revolted? Worse than Emma Frost? It was more like the spuring blood and the creepy faces and such, but I’d be willing to give it a try.

      Thanks! Anything ‘Astonishing X-Men’ is a plus in my book. The art is pretty different, but it’s a neat style. Yeah I don’t have the biggest budget, but I’m also reading some older stuff, I just finished the first volume of Runaways. Haha and it doesn’t all have to be girly–I don’t think the Spirit is ;)

Leave a Reply

