“American Gods” Adaptation!!

UPDATE 4/22: Good news, everyone! According to Hollywood Reporter, Gaiman’s “American Gods” will be an HBO mini series! No other information has been released but this is still reason to celebrate.

But the good news doesn’t stop there; apparently, Gaiman’s latest novel, The Graveyard Book, is also set for a film adaptation, with Neil Jordan directing.

original post:

I’m not one to track celebrities or drool over People.com photos, but I do follow blogs of my favorite authors, including the visionary, fabulous, praise-his-awesomeness Neil Gaiman. And in his latest post he announces a “mysterious adaptation” of his novel (and one of my all-time favorites ever) American Gods. Here’s an excerpt:

Up the next day at 4:30 am to fly to LA, where I attended a meeting on the mysterious upcoming American Gods adaptation project. The results were all I could have hoped and more. (I know I sound coy, and I’m doing my best not to, but I can’t really talk about it until everything’s ready, and the real announcements won’t come from me.)

See the full post here.

If you’ve never read American Gods, go out and buy it. It’s an epic tale of myths and gods and general epicness, and well it’s written by Neil Gaiman so that should say it all.

I am so so so excited for whatever this adaptation project might become, and with each speculation–a mini-series, film, show, graphic novel–the prospects sound even better. You know that if Neil Gaiman’s behind it, you can bet I’ll be first in line for it.

5 thoughts on ““American Gods” Adaptation!!

  1. I am a bit frightened by this. The man’s work? Truly awesome. He’s in my pantheon, that’s for darn sure. The novel itself? Soooooo good.

    And that’s part of the problem. The book is so rich, so layered, so full, that I just don’t see how anyone could turn it into a single film, without losing a huge amount of subtext. Two films? Yeah! Miniseries? Yeah! Graphic novel? Well, of course. But a single, 2-2.5 hour film? I just don’t see it.

    That being said, if Gaiman himself is writing the adaptation…well, I may just *have* to see that. ;)

    • Agreed. A film would generate the most attention, and probably the most money, but would most likely be the least faithful. Personally, I would prefer a mini series :)

      But then again, Coraline and Stardust were great film adaptations (in my opinion at least), so who knows?

  2. I’m seeing it written that this isn’t going to be a film but instead an HBO series? I have no cable but this I would be interested in, any thoughts on this possibility?

Leave a Reply

